My Reading Goals for 2016.

It was a fun, yet tedious, process of coming up with this years reading list. It isn’t a huge list since I have a full time course load, but it is fairly diverse, and hopefully I’ll find time to add more and read more!

This is my main goal for this year. Reading through the second volume of Barth’s Church Dogmatics. Over the years I’ve read through sections that interested me, but to truly grasp what Barth was attempting to say, proof texting will not suffice. This volume covers the knowledge of God, the reality of God and Barth’s controversial doctrine of Election (II.2). I contemplated just working through the second part of the volume, but since Barth tends to write like a symphony, I want to really follow his thought from beginning to end. Needless to say, this will be some heavy lifting.

51Of+84tz3L._SX355_BO1,204,203,200_

I just recently discovered this Introduction to Barth’s Dogmatics, and Barth himself said that Weber was one of the only people to ever understand his theology. This should prove to be very helpful!

41AsQUHnw9L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Next we have Bruce Benson’s ‘Pious Nietzsche’. Benson contends Nietzsche was not an atheist who promoted nihilism, but rather Nietzsche was deeply religious. I’ve already started reading this, and it is wonderful so far.

51JHegt37jL._SX314_BO1,204,203,200_Last year I tackled Webster’s ‘Holy Scripture’, which was a very fruitful read. ‘Holiness’ has been a book I’ve been itching to read.

caesar-and-the-lamb-early-christian-attitudes-on-war-and-military-service-400x400-imadgmg72tgnyyfm

I just recently finished up Channon Ross’s ‘Gifts Glittering and Poisoned‘ in which he shows how the Eucharist is vital in combating the spectacle of a modern day consumer driven Empire, much like the early Christians against the Roman Empire’s spectacle of violence in the colosseums. ‘Caesar and the Lamb’ is an unexpected companion to Ross’s book. Where Ross focuses on the Eucharist, Kalantzis focuses on the early Church’s rejection of Caesar as lord, and how this should affect our modern context today.

Happy reading to all!

2 thoughts on “My Reading Goals for 2016.

  1. Good choice with the CD volumes. II.1 is actually my favorite of all the part-volumes. I recently acquired the Weber book as well, and it is superb! I really wish I had used it before. Weber does an excellent job of weaving quotes into his own prose, which is fluid and matches Barth quite nicely.

    And you’ll love Webster’s Holiness. It is the best introduction to Webster’s own theology, basically laying the groundwork for his current endeavors in reclaiming the doctrine of God’s aseity.

    1. Glad to hear that Weber’s book is superb! I’m going to read it along side my Barth readings. Very excited to get through Holiness. Webster is probably my favorite living theologian. I’m really enjoying II.1 right now, hopefully I can bear down and read a lot on a daily basis!

Leave a Reply

